top of page

Best of 2015 because I am compelled to engage in lists that only I read

My annual disclaimer: It might not be ranked. It probably won't be chronological. And it certainly doesn't promise to be interesting. But it's my list.

FAVORITE ALBUMS OF 2015, ranked against my will

1. The Staves//Blood I Bled

2. Courtney Barnett//Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit

3. Punch Brothers//The Phosphorescent Blues

4. Glen Hansard//Didn't He Ramble

5. Wilco//Star Wars

6. Björk//Vulnicura

7. Josh Ritter//Sermon on the Rocks

8. Young Fathers//White Men Are Black Men Too

9. David Rawlings Machine//Nashville Obsolete

10. EL VY//Return to the Moon

11. Low//Ones and Sixes

12. Gretchen Peters//Blackbirds

HONORABLE MENTIONS

Sufjan Stevens, My Morning Jacket, Jason Isbell, Rayland Baxter, Metric, Torres, Calexico, Chris Stapleton, Daniel Romano, Joan Shelley, Milk Carton Kids, Best Coast, and probably Father John Misty

ALBUMS I REALLY LIKED BUT FELT WEIRD ABOUT INCLUDING BECAUSE THEY'RE MY FRIENDS OR I PLAYED ON THEM OR BOTH Dominic Moore//Amateur Sketches of Famous and Important People

My Oh My-Punch Brothers

Blood I Bled/Make It Holy-The Staves

Pedestrian At Best-Courtney Barnett

Getting Ready To Get Down-Josh Ritter

Believe (Nobody Knows)-My Morning Jacket

Nest-Young Fathers

Bullets & Rocks-Calexico

Stonemilker-Bjork

Lowly Deserter/Winning Streak-Glen Hansard

24 Frames/Speed Trap Town-Jason Isbell

Mr Rodriguez/Yellow Eyes-Rayland Baxter

Magnetized/Taste The Ceiling-Wilco

Make You Better-The Decemberists

Return to the Moon- EL VY

Sprinter-Torres

Short-Haired Woman Blues/The Trip-David Rawlings Machine

How Could You Babe-Tobias Jesso Jr

Pretty Things/Nashville-Gretchen Peters

The Blade-Ashley Monroe

Feeling OK-Best Coast

Paul (The Apostle)-Dominic Moore

Death With Dignity-Sufjan Stevens

In LIke A Lion-Adam & Darcie

The Shade-Metric

No Comprende-Low

Anna-Will Butler

The Quiet Hour- Mark Smith

Northern Exposure-Cheatahs

Highway Patrol Stun Gun-Youth Lagoon

If I've Only One Time Askin'-Daniel Romano

I Went To The Store One Day/Bored In The USA-Father John Misty

FAVORITE MOVIES Ex Machina (dude)

Mad Max: Fury Road (DUDE)

Love & Mercy

Inside/Out

Steve Jobs What We Do In The Shadows

and, yeah, The Force Awakens because I'm not dead inside

(still waiting to see Brooklyn, The Revenant, Hateful 8, and the other "prestige" movies) BOOKS I READ Vampires In The Lemon Grove by Karen Russell was some of the best, most imaginative writing I've read.

The SNL book (Live From New York) and the Pixar book (Creativity Inc) were master classes and fun for the most part. I read a ton of Roald Dahl (six books) with my 7 year old. The Hobbit and second Harry Potter too because rites of passage The John Lennon letters was insightful into the life of a brilliant and flawed man.

I read my first collection by Mary Oliver and will be back.

I started Infinite Jest and will likely finish it in the early 2020s.

TV Fargo was one of the best things I've ever watched from top to bottom.

And Mr. Robot was the bingiest thing I've watched in a long, long time.

OTHER STUFF Watched the Jazz set a franchise record with 12 three-pointers in a half with my 7 year old.

Played lots of Mario Kart with my kids. Which sounds dumb but was really, really fun.

Finally checked Steve Earle off my bucket list. "My Old Friend The Blues" is an all timer for me. Also on my bucket list: get to sing "Dear Prudence" with a killer band (as part of the amazing Rooftop Concert Series John Lennon show that I got to help put together). Consider that box checked. Discovering podcasts (WTF, Song Exploder, more) Wilco @ Red Butte with the best guitar solo ever in "Impossible Germany"

Reuniting The Madison Arm for a blistering, sweaty show in the summer sun. Making records with my friends Dan Buehner, Dominic Moore, Debra Fotheringham, and making music with The Madison Arm, The Lower Lights (on the bucket-listing Kingsbury Hall stage no less), and more Punch Brothers @ The Depot vs Chris Thile @ BYU (with everyone emerging victorious)

Sledding with my 5 year old.

Taking my nearly 2 year old twins to Montana for the first time.

Concepting and miraculously pulling off the most ambitious concept for my work. Really proud of our team on that.

And the biggest? Hitting 10 years of marriage to My Better 3/4.

Thanks for helping make 2015 great for me. I hope to see you all in 2016.


bottom of page